Uttarakhand Ayurved University
(An autonomous body of Uttarakhand Government)


The Uttarakhand Ayurved University is the first Ayurved University in Uttarakhand. There are seven faculties to be established in the University. These faculties are Ayurveda, Biomedical Sciences, Yoga and Naturopathy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Homeopathy, Unani and Siddha System of medicine.

Faculty of Biomedical Sciences is one of the main faculties being developed on priority basis and going to be one of the centers of excellence in Ayurvedic research. Faculty of Biomedical Sciences is the result of the vision of Prof. (Dr.) Satyendra Prasad Mishra, the founder Vice Chancellor of the University. The main objectives of this faculty are to promote the application of basic sciences in the investigation of Ayurvedic concepts, procedures, products and nurture in the discipline of Ayurved biology and evidence based medicine.

The Faculty of Biomedical Science has been established to validate the time tested Ayurvedic concepts on the platform of modern sciences with plan to develop personalized medicine and search new ways to treat disease in modern world with the help of Ayurveda which is also need of the hour and a growing demand of the scientific community world over. The faculty members have collaboration with many renowned scientists in various reputed institutions in India and abroad to achieve a mile stone in the field of medicine. The Faculty is committed to the world class research work to promote the Ayurveda globally.

In accordance with the Gazette Notification No. 664/XXX-2015-46-2013 on 03/03/2015 of Govt. of Uttarakhand, the University has established following Departments under the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences.

1. Biotechnology
2. Cellular and Molecular Biology
3. Human and Ayurvedic Biology
4. Clinical Pharmacology
5. Phytochemistry

Area of research

1. Inflammation
2. Diabetes
3. Aging
4. Ayurgenomics
5. Sathkriyakala
6. Cancer
7. Ayurvedic drug discovery and development

Faculty Members

Dr. Ashutosh Chauhan
Assistant Professor

Department of Biotechnology
Email: ashutosh_biotech2006@yahoo.com
Phone: +91-9675598199

Dr. Deepak Kumar Semwal
Assistant Professor

Department of Phytochemistry
Email: dr_dks.1983@yahoo.co.in
Phone: +91-135-2685124

Research Scholars

Ankit Kumar
Junior Research Fellow

Faculty of Biomedical Sciences
Email: ankitkumarkoli88@gmail.com

Sonali Aswal
Project Assistant

Faculty of Biomedical Sciences
Email: aswalsonali@gmail.com